CA BOCES CTE Students Inducted Into National Technical Honor Society

Olean, NY – January 29, 2020 – Last night, twelve Career and Technical Education (CTE) students from the CA BOCES CTE Center at Olean were inducted into the National Technical Honor Society in a special ceremony.


The National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) exists to honor, recognize, and empower students and teachers in Career & Technical Education. As the honor society for Career & Technical Education, NTHS serves over 100,000 active members annually in both secondary and postsecondary chapters across country. Since its founding in 1984, nearly 1 million students have become NTHS alumni. NTHS honors the achievements of top CTE students, provides close to $300,000 in scholarships annually, and strives to help connect education and industry to build a highly skilled workforce.

CA BOCES Media Communications Technology teacher, Amber Christensen, organized the event and said that year after year it is a high point for students and their families. “While we had to change our ceremony a bit due to COVID-19 regulations, we wanted to make sure to honor these students who work so hard to learn skills in their respective fields and who look forward to this special event.”


CA BOCES CTE Center at Olean Principal, Cory Pecorella, said that he is proud of the new inductees and the opportunities that come from membership in the NTHS. “These students work so hard,” he said. “Their induction tonight will allow them to be connected to an organization that focuses specifically on helping students achieve their goals in future CTE education and careers.”


New inductees included:

Kaidyn West, Media Communications Technology, Olean

Damien Sorvillo, Media Communications Technology, Portville

Destiny Rung, Audio Visual Productions, Portville

Lucas Smith, Criminal Justice, Portville

Jordyn Harasta, Medical Professions, Franklinville

Brooke DeYoe, Early Childhood Education and Human Services, Portville

Haylee Jozwiak, Criminal Justice, Hinsdale

Cheyenne Herrick, Cosmetology, Hinsdale

Hannah DeArmitt, Criminal Justice, Olean

Maria DeGiglio, Medical Professions, Allegany-Limestone

Nathan Armstrong, Audio Visual Productions, Hinsdale

Alyssa Bushnell, Early Childhood Education and Human Services, Portville